Summer Weekends Start with Lilac Days

On Friday I decided to take a half day at work…and I’m so glad I did! It was beautiful outside. Adam and I started the afternoon at Brickhouse, enjoyed lunch and an adult beverage outside, then headed to Home Depot to pick up some flowers. When we got home I turned on the music outside and spent the afternoon planting some flowers while Adam spray painted our patio furniture. The best parts about my Friday afternoon:

-My only Ipod that works at the moment is a generation II Ipod from high school. This meant some awesome throwbacks throughout the afternoon.

-My Grandpa gave us his patio furniture and we decided to paint it red. It looks really good! I’m excited about it. I’ll post a picture when it’s done.

-I actually did some gardening. Now we have to see how long the plants actually last and if any tomatoes actually grow.

image

Friday night Adam and I participated in a Lilac Days beer tasting in the town’s Lilacia Park. It was a lot of fun! Since it was just Adam and I we met two other very nice couples at our table of 6. We split six different bottles of beer then got to choose one from the list to have afterwards. My favorite was the New Belgium Shift. Which one on the menu do you think would have been your favorite??

image

On Saturday morning I ran my 6 mile run for half marathon training. It was a rough one. Not only was I a little dehydrated from the beer tasting but it was my first hot weather run of the season (I even got my first running sunburn). Thankfully the prairie path has drinking fountains every few miles…I took full advantage of each one of them!

Yesterday I spent almost the entire day outside! In the morning I went and watching Adam play soccer in a men’s rec league and in the afternoon we went to the Lilac Day parade in downtown Lombard. It is my first year as a Lombard resident and I was impressed with the parade. It was almost 2 hours long and included the Jesse White Tumblers and Civil War reenactments. Sadly, there was no candy throwing. That seems to be a thing of the past now but it always was my favorite part of parades when I was younger.

image

It’s too bright!

How did you enjoy the beautiful weather this weekend?? Are you ready for summer?

Now it’s The Bachelorette time 🙂 Enjoy your Monday night!

Leave a Reply

