Half Marathon Training!

Half Marathon training started on Monday for my first half!  I decided to use Hal Higdon’s Novice 2 Half Marathon Training Guide. Last October when I ran the Chicago Urbanathlon (a 10 mile obstacle course race – check it out it was A LOT of fun! – www.menshealthurbanathlon.com) I followed Hal Higdon’s Novice 1 program and thought it prepared me very well for my 10 mile race.

I decided to do the Novice 2 mainly to change it up.  I was a little worried about the three running days in a row because of my knees but this week went well!  I figure the Tuesday and Thursday 3 miles can be done at a pretty easy pace. I also gave the schedule to Adam (boyfriend/personal trainer) to figure out the best days to lift.  I’ve done so much work the last 6 months building up my muscles that I don’t want to lose them.  I want to continue to lift while training, maybe just not as heavy as I have been.  

   

By the way…HAPPY FRIDAY!  Any big plans for the weekend?  (Well besides, hopefully, enjoying a margarita sometime tomorrow for Cinco de Mayo) I finally got around to reading Hunger Games (I’m now halfway through the 3rd book…a week later) and I really want to see the movie this weekend.  However, I believe we are going to see Avengers tonight.  I’m kind of sad that I have a responsibility called a job because I would’ve loved to go to the midnight showing to see everyone dressed up.  It is suppose to be rainy all weekend so maybe Hunger Games will be another day.  We’re also going Grill shopping…not really my thing but we can’t go a summer without some grillin’. 

Workouts (For the week since I’ve been slacking a little bit…)

Monday: Lifted Legs and bike for 20 min

Tuesday: First day of running for training! Lifted Biceps/Triceps, Ran 3 miles on treadmill

Wednesday: Ran 3 miles on treadmill, 25 min on the Elliptical

Thursday: Lifted Back/Chest, Ran 3 miles on treadmill

5 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training!

  1. Pingback: Officially Sand Volleyball Season « girlwithweights

  2. Pingback: Chase Corporate Challenge « girlwithweights

  3. Pingback: Weekend Recap (Better late than never) « girlwithweights

Leave a Reply

