Bored at the Gym??

On Friday when I was working out one of my lifting friends (aka one of the older men who occasionally engages in conversation with me) asked me “Do you ever get bored of this?”  I was confused at first because I love working out.  A lot of times working out is my escape from everything else happening in my life. I thought about it more during my workout and I could see how some people would get bored of working out.  A lot of the guys at the gym seem to do the exact same thing every day…upper body…and a lot of it. 

I try my best to change things up…keep things interesting. 

I put together some tips that I use to not get bored with working out everyday.  They might not work for everyone but hopefully someone will find them useful 🙂

Change up the order of your routine: Instead of lifting chest/back one day and biceps/triceps another day, I’ll do chest and biceps or triceps and hamstrings.  It’s not a huge change but it’s enough to be doing something different. 

 
Cardio Intervals: Instead of running for 4 miles at a steady pace or busting it out on the elliptical for 45 minutes try turning your cardio into intervals.  I posted an awesome interval run here.  If you’re more of an elliptical or bike type it can be adapted for those too!  If you’re on Pinterest I’ve found a lot of really good interval workouts on there.

Circuit Training:  When lifting I always try to turn my workout into short circuits.  I’ll usually do two lifts focusing on a specific body part then throw in an ab workout and a quick cardio move.  An example:

Back Circuit Workout           
               
Single Arm Bent Over Row        10 reps each arm       
               
Dumbbell Pullover       12 reps
               
Mountain Climber        45 seconds     
               
Plank   60 seconds     
               
Repeat 3 times!        
               
 

Try new equipment/new lifts: Venturing to a new machine in the gym can be scary.  Even with the pictures on the machine it’s sometimes impossible to figure out what you’re suppose to do and if you are doing it correctly.  But if you don’t try it out you’ll never know if it’s the perfect machine for you or not.  I downloaded two apps on my phone that I’ve found very useful when I want to find a new lift to target a specific area: Bodybuilding.com and Jefit.  Both apps have excercises sorted by specific body part, along with pictures and videos to help you out.  Instead of doing the same exact routine I like opening up one of these apps and finding a new lift to throw in there. 

Try a new fitness class or workout dvd: If you’re a member at a gym there are always classes going on.  Give one a try, it’ll definitely be different than your normal routine.  Or instead of doing your normal cardio, throw in a workout dvd.  I’ve never actually done the entire Insanity program but if I don’t feel like doing a normal cardio workout I’ll do one of the DVD’s every once and awhile.  No matter which DVD I choose I’m always drenched in sweat by the end of it.  I always feel accomplished by the end of the DVD as well (sometimes throw in a little “Screw You Jillian…I CAN do it). 

Find a workout buddy:  This is one thing I wish I could do.  With most of my friends living downtown (or farther) it’s hard to find someone to workout with on a regular basis.  Not only is it a good motivator but a workout buddy gives you someone to talk to or laugh with if things get boring.  I have combined a workout buddy with a new fitness class before.  Grab some friends and try out the new gym down the street or the yoga studio that you’ve always wanted to try.  It turns into a fun night out and you get a good workout! 

New Playlist:  I don’t know about you but I get bored of hearing the same music on my iPod after awhile and find myself hitting the next song button more than actually listening to the songs.  Make a new playlist.  Everytime a new song comes on it’ll put an extra pep in your step and keep you going (and maybe get you to bust a little move in between sets)

Some of my new favorites:

Call Me Maybe- Carly Rae Jepson

Boyfriend- Justin Bieber (Yeah…I know…)

Wild Ones- Flo Rida

Birthday Cake- Rihanna

Work Out- J Cole

Personal Trainer:  This tip isn’t for everyone.  Getting a personal trainer can be expensive and not in everyone’s budget BUT if you can fit it in I would recommend it.  Even if it’s just for a few sessions, a personal trainer can help give you some new ideas and tips. A lot of gyms offer a free session with your membership, it would probably be worth it to give it a try and see if she/he can help give your workout a boost.   

Read Blogs:  Sometimes the best way to find new workouts and get tips are from real people.  Read some fitness blogs and see what other people are doing to stay in shape. 

Workouts
Friday: Lifted Legs and 35 minutes on the StairMaster
Saturday: Day Off!  (Although I cleaned the entire house and my arms were sore from scrubbing the kitchen floor!)
Sunday: Lifted Back and Shoulders

 

P.S. Go HAWWWWKKKSSS 🙂

Leave a Reply

