Onion tears.

Cutting onions are the worst! Not only do tears stream down my face but they sting/burn like crazy.

image

If you look closely you can see my mascara running down my face

I found this article on howstuffworks.com about the chemicals that are released when an onion is cut. If you’re really interested you should read the article, they do a much better job describing it then I would. The article does have a few tips for reducing the tears when cutting onions:

-Chop an onion beneath running water.
-Turn on a fan while cutting an onion to scatter the sulfur compounds.
-Chill or cook an onion before chopping it.
-Use an onion chopping container
-Wear goggles or glasses to protect your eyes.

image

I have used the last tip a few times. Sunglasses or ski goggles are perfect for protecting your eyes… and it’s very stylish! Also, I find that using my Pampered Chef Food Chopper works wonders.

Cutting the onions was worth it because they added to the wonderful Chicken Stir Fry I created for dinner.

image

I cooked some brown rice for the side then stir fried some chicken breast, red peppers and onions with a little bit of soy sauce and hoisin sauce. Delicious.

Leave a Reply

